a newbie's exploration of the core combination ranking system - background on me

All,

As I mentioned in an earlier post (see “what forum to use (if any) for documenting my different trials”), I am new to Portfolio123. In subsequent posts I will document my exploration of Portfolio123, especially the Core Combination ranking system. For those of you who are only interested in the results of my tests, you can skip this post. For those who are a glutton for punishment, you can read this post and shake your head in amusement or pity.

I first learned of Portfolio123 from reading Paul Novell’s blog “https://investingforaliving.us/”. (For other newbies like me, your time would be well spent readiing his blog from the beginning in Sep 2010 to now.) I decided to take the plunge with Portfolio123 last March and signed up on the forum. It was part of a evaluation I planned to make on behalf of some investing / trading friends of mine of the different investment / trading platforms that offered backtesting for different investing / trading strategies. I wanted it to be mathematically based and thus objective, and not based on subjective judgment such as charting, as CANSLIM’s method of buying stocks using the “cup-and-handle” chart pattern. I was interested in testing Richard Dennis’s / Michael Covel’s “Trending Following” methods, such as Donchian Channel breakouts, etc. I was curious as whether using stop losses (either point of entry or trailing) protected profits better than not using them, reading numerous times from the different traders to “cut losses quickly and let winners run”.