K-fold CV (blocked) Chart Confusion

Hi all, I'm a newbie in ML and trying to understand various validation methods. I understand that regular K-fold cross-validation is not suitable for time series (due to auto-correlation) and hence the system is using a "blocked" variety of k-fold. I'm a bit puzzled by the following diagram when selecting K-fold CV (blocked). For illustration purposes I'm using no embargo period (no gap). If we want 4 folds for 10 year full data, the chart is suggesting the following from top to bottom:
Fold 1: validation period: 2014 to 2016-June, but what is the training period and why is the green bar after the validation period?
Fold 2: validation period: 2016.Jun to 2019, is the training period 2014 to 2016.Jun?
Fold 3: validation period: 2019 to 2021.Jun, is the training period 2014 to 2019?
Fold 4: validation period: 2021.Jun to 2024, is the training period 2014 to 2021.Jun?

Is this how K-fold CV blocked works? What training set is use for fold 1 or is fold 1 skipped? Why does the training period say 7.5 years for all folds even though some training data appears after the validation data? Hopefully one of you smarties can explain this better and reconcile with the visual chart. Thank you! - Sam

It is properly designed.
However, this method does not mimic how you would use the model in practice (training on past data and testing on future data). I do not use this method.

The image you attached will train 4 different models , one for each fold . The training period is in green period, predictions are performed in the orange period. The overall quantile portfolio performance is calculated concatenating the orange predictions.