Texas Aggie(*) I/Q getting in the way - why are my tranches so different?

All,

I am a Portfolio 123 expert wannabe (i.e., a newbie), so I suspect I am doing something wrong. I hope you folks can help.

I am (was?) about ready to take my investing / trading system live, but I wanted to do one last sanity check before doing so. I think I remembered reading or seeing in a presentation where the presenter was discussing the screening (or ranking or simulation) tools available to the user. In this presentation, the presenter showed a buy rule that (I think) used something related to the stock (I (mis-?)remembered #tickerID) and the “Mod()” function to divide the stocks into tranches. I presumed that the presenter would use the different tranches to see how reliable the test results were versus pure luck in the stock selection. I reached out on the message tool and Paul DeMartino (thanks, Paul) responded that it is “StockID”. He mentioned “EvenID” but said that “Mod()” should work. So here is the “Buy rule” I used in my simulation:

Mod(StockID, 5)=0

The results I got were not quite as good as the results I had gotten without the buy rule. But when I tried "Mod(StockID, 5)=1, I got terrible results. In fact, here are the results for the different values:

(no rule) 26.93%
Mod(StockID, 5)=0 22.76%
Mod(StockID, 5)=1 16.76%
Mod(StockID, 5)=2 7.92%
Mod(StockID, 5)=3 11.13%
Mod(StockID, 5)=4 18.91%

I am selecting the top 5 stocks using a variation of the Core:Sentiment ranking system, the S&P 1500 for my universe, and a test period of 01/01/2002 to 07/02/2022.

So what the heck am I doing wrong?

Cary

(*) Texas Aggie jokes: https://duckduckgo.com/?t=ffab&q=texas+aggie+jokes&ia=web

Hello Cary, welcome to P123!

A few high level observations:

1. It is normal for the smaller universes to show lesser performance, to a degree. The “full universe” is often optimized.