Using Variables in Loop equations

I am a beginner at using the screening language and any help is appreciated.
I get an error when trying to use a variable in the loopmax function to calculate the high unadjusted close price for CY 2022
I set a variable for number of bars in 2023 to use as an offset in the loopmax function.
@FY23off : BarsSince(20221231) // trading days in CY 2023, use as an offset in loop
@Hi$22 : LoopMax(“CloseExDiv(CTR)”,251,@FY23off,1) // Max Close price (unadjusted) for year
I get error "ERROR: Invalid criteria in Rule 19. Invalid parameters for LoopMax "
I have tried both "@varname : function " and SetVar(@varname, function) variable naming conventions.
The loop max function works when I enter value instead of the variable.
Dale

1 Like

It’s a very bad error message. It should say “Parameters for LoopMax must be constants”. In other words you cannot use variables or functions. The settings for the LoopMax function are only initialized once and there’s no way to know that what you are using doesn’t change from one stock to the other.

We need to: 1 ) fix the error message 2) introduce the concept of a “constant variable”, like SetConstVar()

In the meantime, why do you need unadjusted (for future dividends) close prices? If you can use adjusted this works

@h22:HighVal( 251 , BarsSince(20221231))

Thanks Marco. I guess my next question of a loop inside a loop doesn’t exists yet either. I am trying to calculate a 5 yr average Hi and Lo dividend yield to use a a valuation for dividend paying stocks. Therefore, an unadjusted price is needed (at least in my mind). I do have a version using HighVal, so I am trying to contrast the differences. So a loop inside a loop, with the outer as a loop average over 5 yrs and a loop max (or min) on the inner loop would get the answer in essentially 1 command for max and another for min.

Not sure what you mean by " 5 yr average Hi and Lo dividend yield" . Do you mean 5Y hi and lo yield? Why the “average” ?