enterprise value and preferred equity

I was wondering how P123 gets the value of preferred equity when calculating enterprise value.

Just as an example, the actual value of GE’s preferred stock is 5.28 billion dollars, according to their 2016 annual report. The number on their balance sheet, though, is 6 million, one thousandth of its actual value, since there its value is only a dollar per share. Which number is used to calculate enterprise value?

I did some digging into this, and I see two problems with the calculation of EV. Now I’m not a financial expert, so I may be wrong about some of this. But here’s what concerns me.

Before I start, the actual calculation that P123 uses is MktCap + DbtTotQ - CashEquivQ + NonControlIntQ + PfdEquityQ. In every case I’ve seen, that corresponds exactly. If any of these are NA, that defaults to zero.

The first problem is using MktCap rather than Price*SharesFDQ. From what I’ve read, EV should always be calculated using diluted shares. MktCap uses shares outstanding.

The second problem is using PfdEquityQ. Here is where my understanding fails. How can GE preferred stock have a face value of $5.28 billion and a par value of $5.94 million? And which is their liquidation value? PG’s PfdEquityQ is NEGATIVE $238 million. How can that be?

If anyone can give me any insight into how to properly take into account preferred stocks when calculating EV, I’d appreciate it. Maybe P123 is doing the right thing, but it doesn’t make much sense to me.

As far as I know, there is no way to use the market value for the preferred stock. It would be nice if we had a market price and a number of shares but I just use the par value which has no relationship to market. It doesn’t seem to be a major problem for me but I never invest in big companies - no edge when so many people own and follow the stock.

Never had any issue with matching preferred book values versus what’s on P123. According to Capital IQ: