Run live strategy powered by your local ML system

Hi,
My goal is automate ML model workflow in such a way that my local ml system is run as a live strategy or/and designer model and, most importantly, all operations are automated, without manual intervention.
I'm not experienced in LS/DM so please correct me if I'm wrong in my thinking.

START.

Initial step, manual step:

1. Create ranking system in p123 (call it ml_rank), where the only one node is:
    eval(StockID=X, 100, Eval(StockID=Y, 90, 0), Eval(StockID=Z, 80, 0))
    This ranking assumes that stocks Z is has highest predicted return, and so on. (The formula possibly needs to be reconsidered but this it the overall idea)
  2. Create Live Strategy with ml_rank as your ranking system, with automatic recommendations.

Periodic automatic steps:

1. Train ml model locally
  2. After that, every Sunday night
  • Call data_universe() to get current data,
  • Infer predictions
  • Call rank_update() to to update predictions in ml_rank

END.

Does it make sense ?
It is not a perfect solution... you will not be able to use some functionalities in LS as PrevRankPos() and others...
But the main goal is to run ml model without manual intervention in fully automated way.

1 Like

Sounds good! Another option is to upload your own stock factor based on your ML results, then you don't have to update the ranking system and your single node is going to look a bit simpler. Or is there something problematic with doing that?

1 Like

yes, there is function stock_factor_create_update() so this 'ml_factor' could store also historical values.
So it seems like we have a plan :slight_smile:

2 Likes

That is what I do (as test_user said)
Create a file programmatically with prediction data then upload it as a stock factor with the API.
Date;Ticker;Prediction

The file could contain recent as well historical predictions.
You then simple create a single node ranking system ($$Name)
That is it.